Booking Interviews

Moderator: pmsimon

smokytires

Booking Interviews

Post by smokytires » Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:08 am

Hi everybody! I'm still pretty new to this whole talk-radio format...I'm hosting a show on a local AM station, and my boss wants me to be getting interviews on a daily basis....well the local interviews are easy enough to find...but how do all of you go about finding bigger interviews?

Is there some sort of website that has lists of people wanting to be interviewed? Any help on this subject is appreciated.

Thanks,
David H.

pmsimon

Re: Booking Interviews

Post by pmsimon » Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:34 pm

There are several places where guest suggestions are made or traded, some free and some not. Guestbooker.com is one example. Some syndicators and prep services also offer guest booking services (for a fee). For things like celebrity bookings, you'll also want to call the publicity departments of the TV networks and movie studios to start, make contacts that way, let them know who you are and who you represent. Same for the PR departments of the local sports teams, the SID offices at the college athletics departments. And if your station is an affiliate of a news network, they will help you with getting network correspondents to guest on your show, too. Obviously, it helps if you have a big station in a big market, but even small market stations can get guests with some work.

markstarling

Post by markstarling » Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:51 pm